The session of the Employment Working Group (EWG) concluded last night (27 September 2023) in Durban. The EWG which started on Tuesday is the first of the two meetings of the BRICS labour and employment stream.

The meeting reached a number of outcomes that aim to promote collaborative initiatives and enhance social protection among the BRICS countries. These include a Ministerial declaration, a joint Statement of Labour and Employment Ministers, the adoption of the BRICS Research Network’s report and the consideration of preliminary ideas regarding a BRICS Productivity Ecosystem for Decent Work.

The EWG was a precursor to the BRICS Labour and Employment Ministers’ Meeting (LEMM) which starts today, 28 September, and will run until Friday, 29 September. In this meeting, Labour and Employment Ministers will endorse the outcomes of the EWG. Besides adopting the eThekwini Declaration, they will also pronounce strategies to enhance collaboration among the BRICS governments as well as between BRICS governments and social partners at the multilateral level.

In her closing remarks for the EWG session last night, Deputy Minister of Employment and Labour, Ms Boitumelo Moloi, highlighted that the discussions were not only fruitful but also strengthened collaborative bonds between the BRICS member countries. She said deliberations covered the promotion of rights at work, access to social protection, strategies to bridge the skills gap, and ways to promote sustainable enterprises and innovations.

“As the Chair of BRICS since 1 January 2023, South Africa has proposed key initiatives, including the establishment of the BRICS Productivity Ecosystem for Decent Work Platform and the strengthening of social dialogue and cooperation with social partners,” Moloi said.

The Deputy Minister also expressed satisfaction with the positive reception the proposals received from all BRICS countries.

Attention will now shift to the BRICS LEMM, which started today and concludes on Friday, 29 September 2023. At least ten ministers will partake in this meeting from BRICS members and countries like Cuba, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

For more information, contact:

Teboho Thejane

Departmental Spokesperson

082 697 0694/ 


Issued by: Department of Employment and Labour

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solverwp- WordPress Theme and Plugin